June book haul – part 3

…in continuation from my previous two posts (see links below).

https://projectlibros.wordpress.com/2014/06/29/june-book-haul-part-1/

June book haul – part 2

WP_20140625_011

If you’ve seen my previous posts you’ll know that I am a lover of Spanish and linguistics. So I was thrilled (and, admittedly, slightly terrified) when I was given this book for my birthday by my dear family. Don’t get your hopes up guys; I don’t think I’m going to become a fluent Basque speaker any time soon. This book will probably be kept as a ‘read every now and again’ kind of book when I’m feeling in the mood for a bit of the Basque language. As you do.

But, there’s no doubt that I am definitely looking forward to reading a bit about it and learning a few words and phrases as I know that Basque is practically unrelated to any other language in the world.

WP_20140625_004And, here I am again; I seem to find myself talking about MORE zombie books. Cryonic by Travis Bradberry was one that I simply spotted on Goodreads and felt that I HAD to add it to my Amazon wishlist. It has an interesting new approach to zombie apocalypses/ apocalypsis (what is the plural for that?!) including a world war. I hope that this lives up to my expectations.

The other zombie book that I WP_20140625_001received was, perhaps, not so serious but an equally entertaining read: a zombie apocalypse Haynes manual. Don’t judge. Let’s just say, at least I’m going to be prepared if it ever happens. Enough said… 😉

FWP_20140625_012inally, Article 5 was another Goodreads find. Ember is living in a dystopian USA which is now under military command. Military laws have to be obeyed so a particularly difficult situation occurs when Ember’s mother is arrested for not complying with Article 5 (hence the Kristen Simmon’s title). This situation is made even more difficult when the person that arrests Ember’s mother is the guy that Ember is love with. Dun dun dun.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book hauls

Leave a comment