Review: This Is What Happy Looks Like by Jennifer E. Smith

WP_20140707_003Pretty cover = a definite read.

I just couldn’t resist this – the sunset, the boat, and the couple looking lovingly into each other’s eyes… *sigh.*

And, all in all, it was nice. The story was nice; a celeb boy accidentally emails the wrong person – a normal, non-celeb girl – and the two of them end up falling in love. The end. The characters were also nice – there was a good mix of humour and seriousness. Overall, I thought the whole book was just… nice. I wasn’t blown away by the plot. As I said, it was pleasant but, apart from that, it wasn’t incredibly gripping. There was one moment, I guess, which really captured my attention – when the protagonists, Ellie and Graham, finally meet face-to-face it’s VERY tense and exciting – but, in general, the plot wasn’t mind-blowing.

There were actually some sections that did annoy me a little. This was mainly because the protagonists were ridiculously hypocritical. I find that this happens in the majority of YA novels; the characters worry painfully about some external factor that will affect their relationship (in this case it was the paparazzi) but then they persist in doing things that will get them into trouble (i.e. punching a photographer or going in a boat trip to find Ellie’s politician father). Erm, hello? Don’t blame the world! Blame yourselves for not sticking to your own agenda!

Nevertheless, I still enjoyed it. And despite having a few issues with it I’m still going to read Smith’s The Statistical Probability of Love At First Sight (goodness, that wasn’t easy to type) as it has such good reviews.

Rating = 3 stars.

Leave a comment

Filed under Fiction

Leave a comment