To read or not to read

As an avid reader and blogger, I often find myself in ‘to read or not to read situations’ (i.e. there’s a book or two that I have my eye on but I am in utter torment as to whether or not I should read it). There are three books/series that I am currently debating whether or not to invest the time in reading. I am itching to read the first page to test whether or not I’m going to enjoy one, despite the bad reviews, or to complete a series, despite not enjoying the series so far. Shall I just take the plunge, get it over with and, in doing so, produce a very critical review which is fun to write? Or would that just be a waste of precious reading time? Glance through the following and feel free to leave your opinions in the comments below with some much-needed advice.

  • We Were Liars by E. Lockhart – I know nothing about the plot. Nothing at all. And reading the plot description on Goodreads hasn’t helped me because, despite being twelve lines, it reveals virtually nada about anything that happens. I would often consider this as a good thing but I have found that it’s just thrown me into some sort of limbo. The Goodreads average rating is 3.91 stars which, I guess, isn’t too bad but at the same time I know a few people who have read it and weren’t incredibly impressed. So, should I do a little more research into the storyline to encourage me or will that just ruin it if I do end up committing? My dear friends Maddie and Bee from Heart Full of Books have produced a video dedicated to WWL but I’m apprehensive to watch it so as not to spoil it for myself. Ay ay ay. Problems of a fanatical reader.
  • Finale by Becca Fitzpatrick – I started this series about two years ago and remember absolutely adored the first novel (Hush Hush). And then I read the second one and didn’t love it quite as much (Crescendo). And then I read the third one and thought it was terrible (see the link to my review of Silence below)*. Now there is one left in the series (the aptly named Finale) and I am in utter torment as to whether or not I should grit my teeth and just read the damn thing. I must confess, one of the things that I relish about writing reviews is writing critical ones. So, sure, reading Finale would probably cause me considerable amusement when I write the review but it’s the actual reading it that I’m worried about. I felt like I was actually being tortured throughout the process of reading Silence so the idea of reading the last book fills me with dread. Nevertheless, the tiny, little bit of OCD inside is begging for closure. Argh! Decisions, decisions. Who makes a four-book series anyway?
  • Insurgent and Allegiant by Veronica Roth – I read Divergent earlier this year and really liked it (see the link to my review of Divergent below)*. But, according to friends Veronica Roth catches the bug and the series goes downhill from there. I gave Divergent 4 stars and so I’m concerned that reading the rest will tarnish my view of the characters and the plotline so far. What’s the verdict? Should I remain in innocence?

*

  • Silence by Becca Fitzpatrick review:

https://projectlibros.wordpress.com/2014/06/06/review-silence-by-becca-fitzpatrick/

  • Divergent by Veronica Roth review:

Review: Divergent by Veronica Roth

Leave a comment

Filed under Reading updates

Leave a comment